« 'Credible Threat' Shuts Down All of Los Angeles Unified | Main | Los Angeles Schools Open Today; Threat Determined 'Not Credible' »

AASA Announces National Superintendent of the Year Finalists

Finalists for the 2016 national superintendent of the year award were announced earlier today by AASA, the School Superintendents Association.

The finalists are Freddie Williamson of the Hoke County Schools in Raeford, N.C.; Thomas Tucker of the Princeton City Schools, in Cincinnati; Pamela Moran of the Albemarle County schools in Charlottesville, Va.; and Steven Webb of the Vancouver Public Schools in Vancouver, Wa.

The finalists were selected as winners in their individual states' contests for superintendent of the year. The national winner will be announced at AASA's annual conference in February.

Williamson and Moran have led their respective districts since 2006. Webb has served as superintendent in Vancouver since 2008.

Tucker has led his district since July, coming over from the nearby Worthington, Ohio, schools.

Here's a link with short biographies for each finalist.

A $10,000 college scholarship will be presented in the name of the winner to a student in the high school from which that superintendent graduated, or the school now serving the same area.

AASA selected Philip Lanoue, the schools chief in Clarke County schools in Athens, Ga., as the 2015 national superintendent of the year.

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Follow This Blog


Most Viewed on Education Week



Recent Comments