« Better Habits Build Student Leaders, Authors Argue | Main | At Book Summit, Access to Reading Matters Most »

Gift Funds New Library of Congress Literacy Awards

| No comments

The first International Summit of the Book, which took place Dec. 6-7 in Washington, D.C., opened with big news for libraries and literacy: the announcement of a new Library of Congress Literacy Awards program. David Rubenstein, a Maryland-based private equity executive and philanthropist, has donated $1.5 million in support of three awards honoring contributions to literacy and literacy instruction. The prizes—the David M. Rubenstein Prize, the American Prize, and the International Prize—amount to $300,000 awarded annually.

Rubenstein's address to the Summit cited aliteracy--an unwillingness to read or lack of interest in reading despite the ability to do so--as a problem of equal gravity to illiteracy. The American Prize will recognize projects that combat aliteracy and cultivate readers who are not only capable but also engaged and enthusiastic. The second International Summit of the Book will take place August 16, 2013, in Singapore. Winners of the first round of Literacy Awards will be announced then.

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.


Recent Comments