« ESSA Plans: Seventeen States Plus D.C. Shooting for Early-Bird Deadline | Main | Betsy DeVos' Confirmation Hearing: What to Watch for »

House Education Committee Has Six New Republicans, Three New Democrats

The new House education committee lineup announced on Friday features nine lawmakers who weren't on the roster in the last Congress, as well as a new chairwoman, Rep. Virginia Foxx, R-N.C.

In addition, veteran committee member Rep. Todd Rokita, R-Ind., will keep his leadership of the K-12 subcommittee for the 115th Congress. Foxx was announced as the incoming committee chairwoman last month, and will replace Rep. John Kline, R-Minn., who retired after the 114th Congress. Rep. Joe Wilson, R-S.C., will be the vice-chairman. There are now 22 Republicans and 15 Democrats on the committee. The six new GOP committee members, who will be in the majority, are:

  • Rep. Drew Ferguson of Georgia
  • Rep. Tom Garrett of Virginia
  • Rep. Jason Lewis of Minnesota
  • Rep. Paul Mitchell of Michigan
  • Rep. Francis Rooney of Florida
  • Rep. Lloyd Smucker of Pennsylvania

Meanwhile, Rep. Bobby Scott of Virginia will remain the top Democrat on the committee. The three new Democratic committee members are:

  • Rep. Donald Norcross of New Jersey
  • Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester of Delaware
  • Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi of Illinois

Republicans who were on the committee in the 114th Congress but won't be a part of it this time include Rep. Buddy Carter of Georgia, Rep. Carlos Curbelo of Florida, and Rep. Steve Russell of Oklahoma. Former committee members Joe Heck and Matt Salmon are no longer in Congress.

Among the Democrats, Rep. Hakeem Jeffries of New York and Rep. Katherine Clark of Massachusetts are also no longer on the committee. 

Among the top education issues the committee could face are how to deal with education-related regulations from the outgoing Obama administration and reauthorization of the Higher Education Act.

See the full committee roster below:

Rep. Virginia Foxx, North Carolina (Chair)
Rep. Joe Wilson, South Carolina (Vice Chair)
Rep. Duncan Hunter, California
Rep. David P. Roe, Tennessee
Rep. Glenn Thompson, Pennsylvania
Rep. Tim Walberg, Michigan
Rep. Brett Guthrie, Kentucky
Rep. Todd Rokita, Indiana
Rep. Lou Barletta, Pennsylvania
Rep. Luke Messer, Indiana
Rep. Bradley Byrne, Alabama
Rep. Dave Brat, Virginia
Rep. Mike D. Bishop, Michigan
Rep. Glenn Grothman, Wisconsin
Rep. Elise Stefanik, New York
Rep. Rick Allen, Georgia
Rep. Jason Lewis, Minnesota
Rep. Francis Rooney, Florida
Rep. Paul Mitchell, Michigan
Rep. Tom Garrett, Virginia
Rep. Lloyd Smucker, Pennsylvania
Rep. Drew Ferguson, Georgia

Rep. Robert C. "Bobby" Scott
(Ranking Member), Virginia
Rep. Susan Davis, California
Rep Raul M. Grijalva, Arizona
Rep. Joe Courtney, Connecticut
Rep. Marcia Fudge, Ohio
Rep. Jared Polis, Colorado
Rep. Gregorio Sablan, Northern Mariana Islands
Rep. Frederica S. Wilson, Florida
Rep. Suzanne Bonamici, Oregon
Rep. Mark Takano, California
Rep. Alma S. Adams, North Carolina
Rep. Mark DeSaulnier, California
Rep. Donald Norcross, New Jersey
Rep. Lisa Blunt Rochester, Delaware
Rep. Raja Krishnamoorthi, Illinois

Don't miss another Politics K-12 post. Sign up here to get news alerts in your email inbox.

Follow us on Twitter at @PoliticsK12.

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.

Follow This Blog


Most Viewed on Education Week



Recent Comments