« Kentucky to Model Professional Development for New Standards | Main | Chicago Details College-Readiness Plans »

Common-Standards Watch: Montana Makes 47

Here's one for you in the never-say-never category: Montana has adopted the common standards.

Remember when a huge wave of states adopted them, back in the summer of 2010? The standards had just been finalized, and states stood to gain an advantage in the Race to the Top competition if they had adopted. By the fall of 2010, more than 35 states had done so. As of yesterday, only five had not.

With Montana's move today, that's down to four states, as you can see from our updated map: Alaska, Nebraska, Texas, and Virginia.

Common Standards Map Nov 4 2011.jpg

Notice: We recently upgraded our comments. (Learn more here.) If you are logged in as a subscriber or registered user and already have a Display Name on edweek.org, you can post comments. If you do not already have a Display Name, please create one here.
Ground Rules for Posting
We encourage lively debate, but please be respectful of others. Profanity and personal attacks are prohibited. By commenting, you are agreeing to abide by our user agreement.
All comments are public.


Most Viewed on Education Week



Recent Comments